Durango Sends Crossers to Nationals in KC

USA Cycling’s Cyclocross National Championships are taking place this weekend in Kansas City, MO, and Durango will be well represented at the sweet event. The FLC Cycling Team will be sending its squad to take part in the Collegiate Championships on sunday morning. The team placed second last year to rival Lees McRae of North Carolina. This years squad; Ben Sontaag, Rotem Ishay, Dustin Wanstrath, Jesse Dekray, Cody Wilderman, Greg Carpeter, Chad Wells, and Mike Stevens for the men and Stephanie Swan, Teal Stetson-Lee, Sabina Kraashur(DEVO Coach,) Sarah Strum and Tina Dominic for the ladies. The team will be supported by Coaches Dave Hagen, Ruthie Matthes, Rick Crawford and Mike Engelman, and mechanics, Jon Bailey, Chad Cheeney, Whitney Jones and Will Curry. Dang, thats a serious crew.

Competing in the Elite race on sunday will be; Todd Wells, Troy Wells, Matt Shriver, Brendan Shafer, Grant Berry, Joey Thompson, Ryan Bartel and Chad Cheeney for the men and Shannon Gibson will be representing Durango for the women. Robin Guillaume will be racing the B category on Thursday morning. Robin has a good shot at taking the title after placing 4th in last years race. Walt Axthlem has a good shot at the title as well in the 60+ category along with Martha Iverson, who is a former age group world champion on the road. Other Durango crossers making the trip are; Jack McManus, Richard Baginski, Joe Burtoni, Terrina Tofoya and Steve Lamont. Good Luck to all.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s